From Pastor Donne’s Desk on Mother’s Day <3

Take a look below to see what our Kids Ministry learned this past Sunday!

In the Lima Campus 34’s and 5K’s classroom and the Henrietta Campus Preschool classroom: ❤ Mother’s day ❤

Bible Basis: The story of Elisha, the widow and her sons, and the oil pots from 2 Kings 4:1-7 and/or The Beginners Bible Page 222-225 titled ‘Jars of Clay.’

Bible Verse: Ephesians 6:1 (NLT) Children, obey your parents because you belong to the Lord, for this is the right thing to do.

LIVING FAITH: Living Faith activity is designed to help your child remember the Bible lesson.

The Game is called: I Obey

You will need: paper, cups and dry macaroni

  1. Write “Obey” on a piece of paper and place on half of the table or room and “Disobey” on another piece of paper. Set a cup under each word.
    1. Give children each a handful of raw macaroni and have them stand equally from each sign.
    2. Tell them that you’ll read a statement and they should place one macaroni in the cup that best represents how they would respond — whether they obey or disobey.
  • Allow your children to respond to each statement!
  1. Use these statements:
    1. When my mother asks me to clean my room should I obey or disobey?
    2. When my mother asks me to turn off the television should I obey or disobey?
    3. When my mother asks me to help with the dishes should I obey or disobey?
    4. When my mother asks me to take out the trash should I obey or disobey?
    5. When my mother asks me to stop fighting with my brother or sister should I obey or disobey?
    6. When my mother asks me, to tell the truth, should I obey or disobey?
    7. When my mother asks me to go to bed, should I obey or disobey?
    8. When my mother asks me to brush my teeth should I obey or disobey?
    9. When my mother asks me to eat my vegetables, should I obey or disobey?
    10. After the activity, see which cup has the most macaroni and celebrate their good choices.
    11. Then read aloud Ephesians 6:1-3. Say: God has given Mommy’s and Daddy’s the responsibility of helping their children make good choices, and knowing right from wrong. Children have the responsibility to make good choices and obey their parents. We are children of God right?! So we want to obey mom and Dad because that is God’s best for us! When we obey we are blessed with a special promise (Vs 3) from God! Do you want to be blessed too? (Let children respond) What do you have to do? (Let children respond)- OBEY!

In the Lima and Henrietta Grade School classroom: Mother’s day!

Kids will know that the have benefited by honoring their Mothers. We discuss the promise that follows obedience!

IN THE CAR: Ask your child what happened in class this week on the drive home, here is what they learned:


 In the small group we talked about Ephesians 6:1-3 Children, obey your parents because you belong to the Lord, for this is the right thing to do. “Honor your father and mother.” This is the first commandment with a promise: If you honor your father and mother, “things will go well for you, and you will have a long life on the earth.

Here are some questions to process with your child on the ride home:

What reason does verse one give for us to obey parents?

What do you think about the promise found in verse 2-3?

‘Things will go well with you’ means that as you obey God has set you up to be blessed and a blessing.

How is this promise beneficial to you?

How are you going to make this benefit apart of your everyday life?

HANGING OUT:

Dad’s make plans with your kids to bless their Mom this week! Make her dinner or take her out to a special place. Make up a game to play with Mom or promise her 5 minutes of uninterrupted alone time every day this week! Bless the Mom in your family using all the ways she feels loved.

AT BEDTIME:

Ask your MOM the best and worst of her day, really take the time to listen and enjoy that simple time with her. Encourage and emphasize the great characteristics you see in your Mom and remind her that you are proud of her! ❤

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

